Raw Desserts – The Healthy Alternative

I didn’t know too much about the raw food diet, however lately I’ve come across various websites that promote this lifestyle. I’ve recently tried a few recipes that actually taste great! Since I’m one of those people who can’t live without sweets, I’m committed to incorporate some healthy desserts into my diet. I’ve been working out for a long time, but I need my sweet ‘fix’ every know and then.

The raw food diet is based on unprocessed and uncooked plant foods, such as fresh fruit and vegetables, sprouts, seeds, nuts, grains, beans, nuts and dried fruit. This type of diet has numerous health benefits including increased energy, better digestion, improved skin appearance, weight loss and reduced chance of heart disease. Overall, it contains fewer trans fats and saturated fats than regular diets. At least 75% of food consumed should not be heated over 116 degrees F. For more information including health precautions, cooking techniques, equipment click here.

Here is a latest dessert that I made – a decadent and delicious raw chocolate cake. You can find the recipe here. I purchased  most of the ingredients from a Health Foods/Organic Store. Bon appetit!

 
 
 

 

Leave a Reply

